top of page

Tutorial: How to shorten a metal zipper. EASY!

I had a deep, soul clenching fear of using zippers for a long time. The first handbags I made only had slip pockets, as I didn't know how to make the fancy zipper pockets I love in a purse. Zippers ARE kind of daunting before you learn your way around them. Once you do, you realize they were a bit like that monster hiding under your bed, or in your closet, as a child.. ^^ Not really that scary, once the light was turned on.

Thin plastic zippers are easily shortened to desired length, just cut'em! Do remember not to pull off the zipper pull when you've cut off the end.. ;)

Metal zippers are a whole other deal. They require a special method, which I'll show you now!

  1. Mark your wanted length on the back side of the zipper. I only mark near the edges, so the lines wont show later on. The mark should be where you want the teeth to end.

  1. Grab your pliers and simply pull the teeth out one at a time, starting at your marking. It's not hard at all. Remove teeth towards the opening end of your zipper! Make your "gap" about 1"/2-2,5cm

  1. Almost done..! Cut your zipper where you stopped removing teeth. Some people pry open the little metal stops, and put them back at your newly made end, but I've never done that. I'm just extra careful NOT to allow the zipper pull to get close to the end of the teeth, before I sew it in. In this picture, I've already started pinning zipper tabs on, and I've sewn the opening ends together to keep'em together. (I always do this, as it makes it easier to pin it etc.)

Done! If you don't move the metal stops, be sure to sew a couple of times across the end when you've inserted your zipper!

bottom of page